Playlist Files: My Top 25 Break-up Songs

As a writer, words, especially lyrics, resonate with me and feed my soul.  The power of words never ceases to amaze me—they can pump you up, tear you apart, leave you breathless or empathize with you when you need it the most.  I was 18 when I bought my first I-Pod.  I uploaded so many songs that the outdated classic now sits in my drawer with the dreaded sad-face, meaning the hard drive is shot.  I had a matching sad face for weeks. 

Scrolling through what seems like millions of songs, I can clearly pinpoint each and every stage of my life throughout the past six years.  There were those when I was on top of the world with happiness, others when I was trying to find myself and some where life had become too much, too soon.  Like a scrapbook, my I-pod is infused with memories, dates and emotions.  As I reminisce, I become nostalgic.  I can vividly remember fun times riding in my first car with my ex, singing karaoke-style to the likes of Usher and Maroon 5.  Oh and then there was Christina Aguilera’s “It Keeps Getting Better” (Don’t ask).  I remember working out in our apartment and finding motivation with Eminem and riding with the convertible top down and jamming to Gaga with the girls.  I can hear the melody of certain songs playing softly in the background as I went on dates, cruised with my pup and ran around the city.  It’s all there, in my old, beat-up I-Pod.

In the last year I retired the old-timer and replaced him with a new, sleeker model as well as with my coveted I-Phone 4 (my must-have).  But all those meaningful songs are still there.  So from the archives of my coveted playlists, I am pulling my favorite break-up songs for the ladies that need a little motivation and cathartic release.  Some will piss you off, some will make you cry and others will just make you laugh.  But whatever the emotion, embrace it.  Words and lyrics are the beauty in the song of life.  What’s your song?

  1. “Happy” Hilary Duff

I’m happy and I can thank myself
If it were up to you I’d be in my bed crying
But I’m happy and I know that makes you sad
After all the things you put me through
I’m finally getting over you

  1. “Let Him Fly” Jessica Simpson *My Absolute, all-time fav

And there ain’t no talkin to this man
He’s been tryin to tell me so
It took awhile to understand the beauty of just letting go
Cause it would take an acrobat, I already tried all that
I’m gonna let him fly

  1. “You Lost Me” Christina Aguilera

And we had magic
And this is tragic
You couldn’t keep your hands to yourself

I feel like our world’s been infected
And somehow you left me neglected
We’ve found our lives been changed
Babe, you lost me

  1. “California King Bed Rihanna
    We were always just that close
    Wrist to wrist
    Toe to toe
    Lips that felt just like the inside of a rose
    So, how come when I reach out my finger
    It feels like more than distance between us

4. Let it Burn” Usher

Deep down you know it’s best for yourself but you
Hate the thought of her being with someone else
But you know that it’s over
You know that it was through
Let it burn

  1. “Impossible” Shontelle

Tell them all I know now
Shout it from the roof tops
Write it on the sky line
All we had is gone now

  1. “Bulletproof” La Roux

Do, do, do, your dirty words
Come out to play when you are hurt
There are certain things that should be left unsaid

  1. “Say Goodbye Ashlee Simpson

Maybe you don’t
Love me
Like I love you baby
Cause the broken in you doesn’t make me run

  1. “Irreplaceable” Beyonce

You must not know ’bout me
I can have another you by tomorrow
So don’t you ever for a second get to thinkin’
You’re irreplaceable

  1. “Cry Me a River” Justin Timberlake

So you took a chance
And made other plans
But I bet you didn’t think that they would come crashing down, no

  1. “Set Fire to the Rain” Adele

All the things you’d say,
They were never true, never true,
And the games you play
You would always win, always win

  1. “F**K You” Cee Lo Green

And although there’s pain in my chest
I still wish you the best
With a…
‘F**k you’

  1. “Smile” Lily Allen

At first when I see you cry,
yeah it makes me smile, yeah it makes my smile

  1. “Goodbye my Lover” James Blunt

I’ve kissed your lips and held your hand.
Shared your dreams and shared your bed.
I know you well, I know your smell.
I’ve been addicted to you.

  1. “Brand New Girlfriend” Steve Holy

You know I feel just like a kid again
I got a brand new girlfriend
She makes me feel just like a kid again
I gotta brand new girlfriend

  1. “Ridin’ Solo” Jason Derulo

Now I’m feeling how I should, never knew single could feel this good, oh,
Stop playing miss understood, back in the game, who knew I would, oh,

  1. “99 Problems” Jay Z

If your having girl problems I feel bad for you son
I got 99 problems but a bitch ain’t one

  1. “King of Anything” Sara Bareilles

Who cares if you disagree
You are not me
Who made you king of anything

  1. “No Love” Eminem Ft Lil Wayne

You showed me nothing but hate
You ran me into the ground
But what comes around goes around

  1. “It’s Alright, It’s OK” Ashley Tisdale

No matter what you say
I wont return
Our bridge has burned down
I’m stronger now

  1. “The Love I Never Had” Mary J. Blige

So I’ve gotta wake up
Stop living in a dream
Yes I’ve gotta wake up
Cause I can’t lose the love I never had

  1. “Potential Break Up Song” Aly & AJ

Cause without me, you know you’re lost
Wise up now or pay the cost
Soon you will know

  1. “Big Girls Don’t Cry” Fergie

And I’m gonna miss you like a child misses their blanket
But I’ve got to get a move on with my life
It’s time to be a big girl now
And big girls don’t cry

24.  “Raining Men” Nicki Minaj/Rihanna

Oh its raining men girl what you worry ’bout?

25.  “Can’t be Friends” Trey Songz

And I wish we never did it
And I wish we never loved it
And I wish I never fell so deep in love with you and now ain’t no way we can be friends

Comments
5 Responses to “Playlist Files: My Top 25 Break-up Songs”
  1. We have very different tastes in music, but I totally identify with the attachment one can feel for music and it’s connections with time and places in your past.

    Why, I’d be lying to myself if I said I didn’t even have some sort of emotional attachment to my Ipod.

    It’s the damnedest thing. I haven’t really listened to ANY music in the past few years, but now I feel a driving need to do so.

    Best of luck to you in your hardships, and thanks for the great post.

  2. Jaclyn Rae says:

    Great list! Thank you 🙂

  3. Rima Bobe says:

    Starting a site kind of like this one forced me to do some research and I found your post to be quite helpful. My content is centered around the idea of knowledge, fun and sharing. I wish you first-rate luck with your site in the future and you can be sure I’ll be following it.

  4. free cpanel says:

    Simply a smiling visitant here to share the love (:, btw outstanding design and style . free web hosting | free cpanel account |

  5. Graphics says:

    Greeeeeeeeat Blog Love the Infomation you have provided me .

Leave a Reply

