Can we still be friends?

My Dearest Cleveland,

It’s been a fun ride.  I’ve given you 24 years and now I’m ready for something more.  It’s true–I’ve cheated.  I have a new romance in my life… I’ve been fantasizing about the bright lights of the unknown. I love you, but I’m not in love with you and I feel as though we have taken this as far as it can go.  You wanted more than I’m prepared to give and now I’m ready to branch out on my own and fly solo.  My lovely hometown–it was fun while it lasted, wasn’t it?  So please consider this my one year notice.  Soon I will embark on a new journey in life, but don’t worry–we can reunite with weekend day trips or visits.  But it will never be as it was.  My heart is set on the adventure of a new chapter, and frankly, dear C-town, I have no room for you in my future.  Remember, there’s always plenty of fish in the sea…just maybe not in Lake Erie.  It’s not you, it’s me… well, maybe it is YOU.

Signed,

Chi-town has my heart

Leave a Reply

