Nothing comes between me and my… yoga mat?

“Someday you’re gonna look back on this moment of your life as such a sweet time of grieving. You’ll see that you were in mourning and your heart was broken, but your life was changing and you were in the best possible place in the world for it – in a beautiful place of worship, surrounded by grace. Take this time, every minute of it. Let things work themselves out…” (Eat, Pray, Love)

“Be your own guru,” my yoga instructor told the class of sweaty, wobbly wannabe yogis.   The thought of listening to my own body’s needs and desires stayed in my heart and head all night: What do I want in this moment, what does my body need at this time?  But, most important, what can I do for my own heart and how can I feed and soothe my own soul? 

Today has been marked by revelations as the morning started with an eye-opening interview.  The life of Centenarians was the topic of discussion as I spoke with an expert of social work about his ongoing research of century-old individuals.  It was mind-boggling to me.  Over 100 candles on a birthday cake, 100 holidays come and gone and 100 years of bad fashion?  Well, maybe NOT the latter part.  I digress. 

These ageless individuals, who span all areas of the globe, including India, Hong Kong, Hawaii, and yes, even the hometown of yours truly, Cleveland, have survived and thrived over a century of years.  Not only was the sheer mathematics behind it all fascinating to me, the factors influencing their lengthy time on earth proved even more remarkable. 

From a strict vegan diet, to daily mental and physical exercise, centenarians have true discipline behind their staying power.  But the most amazing of all variables was attitude.  Yes, coming from the innate-Eeyore (cloud of rain and all) herself, I could not believe how healthy and sustaining a positive attitude can truly be in one’s life.

 According to the expert, when loved ones die or tragedy strikes, centenarians simply “bounce back.”  That’s right, no moping, no mourning period—it’s a ‘that’s life and it’s time to move on’ attitude that carries them to the next stage and year of their lives.  With a constant warming and welcoming smile displayed proudly on their aging faces, centenarians hold no disdain for others and breathe positivity into friends, family and even strangers.  While the US is guilty of abandoning or neglecting its elderly, these societies revere the fountain of wisdom and life lessons that are their centenarians.  Fear does not disable centenarians, as they do not think about death.  That’s right—death, who cares?  Between the ages of 100 up to 125, these individuals are too busy making plans.  Never obsessing about the passage of time, they are rooted in the present and the future as they look forward to watching great grandchildren marry and have babies.

“As smoking is to the lungs, so is resentment to the soul; even one puff is bad for you.”

With the powerful idea of thriving century-old individuals in mind, I call on my inner guru.  I ask her to rejuvenate my soul by releasing the residue of bitter resentment and hatred towards those who have hurt me.  I pray she will create a mantra to sustain my inner peace of mind and positivity of the future. 

“There’s a crack (or cracks) in everyone…that’s how the light of God gets in.”

 My heart calls for a few Band-Aids and quiet reflection and I remember in this moment, it’s ok to grieve, to be hurting.  My heart may have deep crevices and cracks, but those are just signs that I fought for love—with the entirety of my heart. I pray to move forward in life, without the crippling fear holding my heart center in a vice.  I ask my inner divinity to root my legs in the present, keep my heart full of loving memories and warmth and stretch out my arms to the sky as my own branches reaching for the future.  I ask for energy and I bless myself with a mantra: Om Namah Shivaya (salutations to that which I am capable of becoming).

“To find the balance you want, this is what you must become. You must keep your feet grounded so firmly on the earth that it’s like you have 4 legs instead of 2. That way, you can stay in the world. But you must stop looking at the world through your head. You must look through your heart, instead. That way, you will know God.” (Eat, Pray, Love)

(Images reblogged from VisualizeUs)

Comments
3 Responses to “Nothing comes between me and my… yoga mat?”
  1. Hi, I hopped over to this webpage from reddit. It’s not an article I would regularly read, but I loved your perspective on it. Thanx for creating something worth reading!

  2. Hi,

    Nelly and I are some like.. similar. 😀
    Thanks also for this. 😀

  3. Mat for Yoga says:

    Will surely recommend this site to some friends! Very interesting site and articles. Really thankful for sharing. Regards,

Leave a Reply

