My personal “instructions for freedom”

Sometimes lessons can show themselves in the most obvious of ways… but other times it takes the darkness of change to shed light on life’s much-needed memos of growth.

 My Year in Lessons…

1.   The true meaning of a soul mate

“People think a soul mate is your perfect fit, and that’s what everyone wants. But a true soul mate is a mirror, the person who shows you everything that is holding you back, the person who brings you to your own attention so you can change your life.

A true soul mate is probably the most important person you’ll ever meet, because they tear down your walls and smack you awake. But to live with a soul mate forever? Nah. Too painful. Soul mates, they come into your life just to reveal another layer of yourself to you, and then leave.

A soul mate’s purpose is to shake you up, tear apart your ego a little bit, show you your obstacles and addictions, break your heart open so new light can get in, make you so desperate and out of control that you have to transform your life…”  (Eat, Pray, Love)

 

 

2.  Definition of LOVE

Real love opens your heart to a new world of light, expression, kindness, sincerity and unwavering appreciation.  Love brings you to your knees in appreciation and gratitude and gives you a hand to hold when the world shows its lonely side.  Love is love by every sense of the word… and can never be lazy, cruel or fictitious.  It cannot kick you when you’re at your lowest, scream at you when you need words of patience or leave you in the darkness of a shadow.  While the love I experienced was a lie, my love for a person of the past was real and true and I am so thankful to have the ability to love with the entire fullness of my heart. 

3.  The purpose of relationships

“Later that day I got to thinking about relationships. There are those that open you up to something new and exotic, those that are old and familiar, those that bring up lots of questions, those that bring you somewhere unexpected, those that bring you far from where you started, and those that bring you back. But the most exciting, challenging and significant relationship of all is the one you have with yourself. And if you can find someone to love the you you love, well, that’s just fabulous.”  (Sex and the City)

 

 

4.  The ‘friend’ in boyfriend can never compare to the love shared through friendships with your girls…

“No matter who broke your heart, or how long it takes to heal, you’ll never get through it without your friends.” (Sex and the City)

5.  Transformation is inevitable, endings are new beginnings and beauty really can be found in the darkest of times…and remember, there’s no rainbow without a few drops of rain.

 

6.  Sometimes, some things in life really aren’t meant to be…and sometimes you have to take a risk and let the scars go for a chance at a smile…

“I’m choosing happiness over suffering, I know I am. I’m making space for the unknown future to fill up my life with yet-to-come surprises.” (Eat, Pray, Love)

 

 

7.  Dreams are meant to be held onto, not taken.  I woke up from a nightmare just in time to remember the beauty of my dreams…

(All photos courtesy of VisualizeUs)

Comments
2 Responses to “My personal “instructions for freedom””
  1. Jaclyn Rae says:

    I absolutely love, love, LOVE this post!

    Especially:
    “I’m choosing happiness over suffering, I know I am. I’m making space for the unknown future to fill up my life with yet-to-come surprises.”

    What a fabulous quote. Thank you for putting joy in my heart this evening! I will definitely visit your blog again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

