The greater the risk, the greater the beauty.

typewriter

“For me, writing is about control. Or, more accurately, loss of control. Maybe you are a writer, and you disagree because writing for you feels more like walking on the beach or getting a massage. Well, maybe you and I should never meet for coffee. Writing for me feels like getting naked in public.

And writing is when I let the hamster off the wheel and let it run loose for a while, wherever it wants, sniffing around. When I write, I believe the risky thought that all the ideas might have a place, instead of just running themselves around and around in a circle. Writing gives me a place to use all my flashes and thoughts and rabbit trails that rattle around in my head making me crazy.  Writing is my best chance at happiness, and it is the riskiest thing I can do.  But that’s how life is.  The riskiest things always yield the best, most beautiful things. 

One of the true hazards in writing is that you yearn to write deeply honest things rise up from lessons learned the hard way…and then you have to learn those lessons the hard way…You pray for wonderful, honest, gritty, tender stories to write, but then you have to live through them.

What writing teaches me, over and over, is that God is waiting to be found everywhere, in the darkest corners of our lives, the dead ends and bad neighborhoods we wake up in, and in the simplest, lightest, most singular and luminous moments. He’s hiding, like a child, in quite obvious and visible places because he wants to be found.”

Shauna Niequist

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

